The Best Is Yet to Come…


For you, is the best yet to come? For me it is!

It’s been a great summer. Most of us are sad to see it go. I spent my summer working on my uncles’ farm, working in corn, being a leader at my church’s vacation Bible school, camping, swimming, babysitting, and relaxing. Now onto the school year with school, Bible quizzing, piano lessons, Bible study, youth group, and teaching piano. Both seasons are busy in their own ways, but the school year is the busiest because that kind of busy it work-busy, while summer-busy is social-busy. I just read that sentence over again and I’ll never look at the word “busy” the same again. It reminds me of the word “bees.” Totally off-topic. (I’m not random, you just can’t think as fast as me. ^_^ )

Is the best yet to come? Or are you entering this school year wishing you could sleep in, trying to weasel out of homework and “get by” in your subjects?

Or are you going to wake up each morning with a sense of ambition (ambition: an earnest desire for some type of achievement or distinction; the object, state, or result desired or sought after; desire for work or activity; energy)? Are you going to get up each morning, on your way to work or school, with the mindset, “I’m going to succeed today. I’ll give my best and more. I’ll do what’s required of me, going above and beyond. I have a purpose in everything I do today.”

Success counts on your attitude. Why is it that some people are born poor and destitute; but later in life, end up going to university and becoming wealthy, while others are born wealthy yet never get anywhere of significance in life? Ambition. The poorer person had it, while the wealthier didn’t. Ambition requires goals.

To be successful, one must have goals; and to achieve those goals, ambition — the drive to achieve those goals.

However, what must those goals be?

To honour and glorify God in everything you do.

To hold others in higher esteem than yourself.

To serve God, working for His purposes.

Those should be your goals. A good verse for us all to remember is Micah 6:8:

He has shown you, O man, what is good. And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.

We are to treat our fellow Christians with justice, mercy, and the Fruits of the Spirit (love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control), as well as “walk humbly with [our] God.” Walking with our God requires a bit more than is plainly stated. We are to put every effort into following Christ and doing His will. God isn’t fooled by our perfect church attendance, or our service in the community, or our behavior around other Christians. Those things are important, but not as important as our personal relationship with Him.

This year, make Him first in your life. Go to school with a determination to show others Christ’s love. Think of new ways to help others. Be a secret server for God.

A while ago (June 2011) I posted on my old blog about work. I said:

I’m here at my uncle’s farm working for a bit, and remind myself to work hard — not only doing my best, but doing what’s expected of me. And even to go a bit above and beyond. There are a few reasons to work to just above your employer’s expectations: to keep your job, get promoted, make more money…but there’s one very important reason that stands above the others. What if you were about to get fired? Or here was no chance of being promoted? Then what would you work for?

The reason that stands above the others is to please God. Ecclesiastes 9:10 says, “Whatsoever thy hand findeth to do, do it with thy might. For there is no work nor device nor knowledge nor wisdom in the grave, whither thou goest.” So basically, we are to do any work we do with everything we have because now is our only chance to do it. We can’t work after we die. Also, we need to glorify God and work for Him, no men.

So do it now, not later. Do it with all your might, not just enough to satisfy…because you may not have many other chances to honour God.

Remember that in all you do, work for God; not men.

I spoke earlier about success. There are many people in this world who will never be on the “high end” of society. To God, that doesn’t matter. All that matters to Him is your spiritual success — how you grow in Him, serving and glorifying Him in all you do. Make the decision to this year honour Him above all else.

Leave a Reply

