No Shampoo: Update


I have one reason I’m doing this update: well, two, actually. Two reasons:

1. I have the link to the variation of this method I used (the one that’s worked best for me so far)

2. I feel like I’ve accomplished something! 🙂 Which is always a good thing. Unless you’re accomplishing bad things. Then that’s not good.

So first, here’s the link, if you feel like reading another post: A Non-Toxic, Frugal Way to Wash Your Hair without Buying Shampoo  (1greengeneration.elementsintime.com)

And here’s just the recipe/variation of the no-shampoo method I used and got the best results with:

Shampoo:

Mix 1 part baking soda with 3 parts water. It’s easiest if you put it in a clean, well-rinsed old shampoo or squeeze bottle.

Conditioner:

Mix 1 part apple cider vinegar (the website suggests organic white vinegar but I just used apple cider vinegar) with 4 parts water. Again, it’s handy if you re-use an old shampoo or squeeze bottle as a container.

How:

On your dry scalp, squeeze “shampoo” all over (as close to roots as possible) and massage for several seconds; be thorough! This won’t lather, obviously, so it’s important you put it everywhere directly. Leave this on for 1 – 3 minutes; rinse thoroughly. Next, squeeze the “conditioner” on the ends and body of your hair only. Work it in, detangling as you go. Leave in for a couple minutes and rinse out completely. The smell will wash out; don’t worry about that! But it is nice to put in a few drops of essential oils into your shampoo if you’d like. 🙂

This is what I did; it was the first method I’ve tried that actually got all the grease out of my hair. The paste method was too condensed for me; it was harder to spread around and get in different areas. I think this time I was much more thorough; so some things that didn’t work for me may work for you.

So what’s my hair type? Well, it’s long (about 3 – 4 inches above the top of my hipbone), very thick, and blonde. When I used shampoo, I washed it at least every other day, if not every day. It was ready for another washing 24 – 48 hours after the first washing.

I’m not sure how long I can go without washing it using the “no ‘poo” method; I’m still experimenting.

More updates to come!

Leave a Reply

