because you are young [faith]


Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity.

(1 Timothy 4:12)

How can we live a life of faith to be an example to other believers?

– what is faith?

– why do we need faith?

 Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ.

(Romans 5:1)

 

 My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power, so that your faith might not rest on men’s wisdom, but on God’s power.

(1 Corinthians 2:4 – 5)

 

We who are Jews by birth and not ‘Gentile sinners’ know that a man is not justified by observing the law, but by faith in Jesus Christ. So we, too, have put our faith in Christ Jesus that we may be justified by faith in Christ and not by observing the law, because by observing the law no one will be justified.

(Galatians 2:15 – 16)

 

And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.

(Hebrews 11:6)

There are tons of miracles where Jesus said that their faith had healed them—not their good works or church attendance, but faith.

Faith: “unquestioning belief . . . complete trust or confidence . . . loyalty, sincerity, honesty.” – dictionary

What is faith?

Faith is being sure of God’s presence at all times, and the unquestioning belief in God. It’s complete trust or confidence in God, believing and knowing in our hearts that His will is ultimately good and is best for us. And, as the Bible states, faith is being “certain of what we do not see” (Hebrews 11:1) In this case, I think the “unseen” part is God and God working in our lives.

Why do we need faith?

And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.

(Hebrews 11:6)

 

We who are Jews by birth and not sinful Gentiles know that a person is not justified by the works of the law, but by faith in Jesus Christ. So we, too, have put our faith in Christ Jesus that we may be justified by faith in Christ and not by the works of the law, because by the works of the law no one will be justified.

(Galatians 2:15 – 16)

 

Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ…

(Romans 5:1)

Faith is ultimately trusting God with every situation, no matter the circumstances or the outcome. Faith isn’t something that is acquired suddenly. It takes time to build up faith, similar to how one builds up trust in a friend over time. But something I realized when I was going through a rough time was that if I didn’t trust God and let go of my desire to control the situation and instead let Him work everything out, I would never grow in my faith. Sometimes, I’ve asked God to send me a “big trial” to give me a chance to grow my faith. But he will first give small trials, and looking back, I didn’t even recognize it when He gave me a big trial. I just saw it as things that got thrown at me. Trust God always, and your faith will grow in Him.

Leave a comment