faith: strengthened or weakened?


As Christians, we will undergo many trials. We know this, and determine to have faith when these trials strike us. In my young Christian life, I decided that, no matter how difficult things got, I would always turn to God and that I would never get mad at Him. I think that at the time, I didn’t realize exactly how difficult it would be; I mean, I had really never had many trials. No one close to me has ever died, I haven’t been diagnosed with any terrible illness. I never had any reason to really doubt God’s goodness. I knew that until it came right down to an inevitable trial, my faith would be tested by how I responded to God at that time. Would I trust Him in the middle of my fears or push Him away and try to deal with it on my own?

Although I haven’t had any “physical” trials, I have had emotional/spiritual ones. Recently, I struggled a lot with devotion to God. I felt like there was a spiritual war raging right above my head.

One very special verse I’ve memorized through a program at my church has helped me:

His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness. Through these he has given us his very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature and escape the corruption in the world caused by evil desires.

 

(2 Peter 1:3 – 4)

The Bible says that God has given us His “divine power.” What is this divine power? I believe that it’s faith. It’s knowing that even in the worst of things, we can cry out to God and trust in Him. We have the power to have faith in Him because He saved us from our sins. And if we believe, He promises to never leave us. When we believe this, we turn our backs to the world and solely follow the Lord.

I have had some trials too; situations in which I felt a very deep sense of loss and near-panic. It was a time like that when, although I could barely think, I felt God ask me, “Will you trust Me?” I knew that, depending on how I answered this question, my faith would either be strengthened or weakened. “Yes, God…I trust You. I trust You,” was my answer. I felt a “peace that passes all understanding” and knew that, no matter what happened, God was in control and He had the best plan in mind for me.

So I challenge you, when you feel completely overwhelmed and helpless, to cry out for God. He will be there, even if you can’t feel Him, for He promised to “never leave you nor forsake you.” (Hebrews 13:5.)

I leave you with this:

And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast. To him be the power for ever and ever. Amen.

 

(1 Peter 5:10 – 11)

Leave a Reply

